• Special Education Services are available to students from ages 3 through 21 who have been diagnosed with disabilities and require specialized instruction to make effective progress in accessing the curriculum. \

    Individualized special education programs are cooperatively developed by the student's planning team led by a TEAM chairperson, which includes parents, teachers, administrators and, when appropriate, a speech and language pathologist, occupation therapist, school psychologist or other specialists. These TEAMs make every effort to provide the appropriate special education program to children in a setting as close to the regular classroom as possible.

     

    Many times the special education process can seem confusing to parents with a new language, rules, expectations and forms. If, at any time, you have a question or concern regarding your child's progress or IEP, do not hesitate to contact the Special Education TEAM Chairperson for your child's school. Their primary role is to assist parents and staff in, and through, the special education process. You may also contact the Special Education Administrator.  

     

    Determining Special Education Disability Eligibility

    The Special Education Department has constructed a flowchart to show the steps in determining Special Education service eligibility for your child(ren), available in English, Spanish and Portuguese:

     
     
  •  

    Contact Us

    Brittany Smeltekop
    Director of Student Services
    bsmeltekop@ashland.k12.ma.us
     
    Colleen Brewer
    Administrative Assistant 
    cbrewer@ashland.k12.ma.us

    Linda Lee
    Student Services Assistant 
    llee@ashland.k12.ma.us

    Mailing Address:
    87 West Union Street
    Ashland, MA 01721

    ph: 508-881-0155
    fx:  508-881-0152
     

    Special Education
    Coordinators

    Out of District Coordinator
    Robin Wurtzel
    rwurtzel@ashland.k12.ma.us
    ph:  508-532-8062
     
    Grade Pre-K 
    Sara Davidson
    sdavidson@ashland.k12.ma.us
    ph:  508-881-0160
     
    Grades K-3
    Kathryn Bent
    kbent@ashland.k12.ma.us
    ph:  508-532-8077
     
    Grades 4-7
    Heidi Manthei
    hmanthei@ashland.k12.ma.us
    ph:  508-532-8056   
     
    Grades 8-12
    Joshua Sanford
    jsanford@ashland.k12.ma.us
    ph:  508-532-8020